top of page

About Salamanders

Updated: Mar 31, 2018

Our family thought long and hard to work out what to call this little venture of ours, and we eventually decided upon Salamander Learning. Now I know that Salamanders are not traditionally linked to learning and to books, so our choice of name might seem a little strange!


However, salamanders are one of the most adaptive creatures on the planet. They live in water and on land, in different habitats and can be different in appearance depending upon where they live. They can adapt and thrive to almost any environment much like the best learners. They research and learn, make mistakes, review and learn from them, change and move forward.


A salamander also features in one of my favourite books...Matilda by Roald Dahl. I love everything about that book...from the parts where Matilda improves her knowledge through reading, through her getting the better of Miss Trunchbull and I remember thinking as a child that I would love to have her telekinetic powers!


And in a funny play on words Salamander sounds a bit like my name too...so the deal was sealed!


I hope you like browsing our site as much as I enjoyed putting it together. If you have any suggestions about how we can improve (and adapt) I would love to hear your thoughts.








6 views0 comments
  • Amanda John, Salamander Learning
  • Salamanderamanda
bottom of page